3rd Newa Ekta Diwas (Newa Unity Day) marked with calls to ensure identity and rights

At a public conference organized in Kipu (Kirtipur) on Saturday for third Newa Ekta Diwas, major political party leaders called for guarantee of identity and rights of Newars and other marginalized groups of Nepal.

Newa Ekta Diwas marks public declaration of Newar autonomous province in Kathmandu’s Dashrath Stadium through Newa Swayatta Rajya Manka Sangharsha Samiti (Newa Autonomous State Joint Struggle Committe) in a large-scale event participated by hundreds of thousands of Newar and other people four years ago on today’s date – Pohelathwa Nawami, 1129 Nepal Sambat.

Addressing the conference, UCPN Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ recalled active role played by Newar community in the past for rights of marginalized groups and affirmed the need to continue movements until identity and rights of those groups are ensured.

Nepa Rastriya Party President and Minister for Science and Environment Dr. Keshab Man Shakya clarified the importance of Newa Ekta Diwas to ensure our (Newar) rights and warn repressive forces.

Ashok Rai, Chairman of Federal Socialist Party, expressed confidence that heartfelt popular demands for new constitution with identity-based federalism will be met and stated that the party was for reinstatement of Constituent Assembly to reach a political agreement through constitutional means.

Nepali Congress Central Committee member Narhari Acharya asserted that federalism in future constitution will be based on identity but also hold democratic values. He further noted that federalism is meant for equality and should not favor anybody.

CPN-UML leader Jivan Ram Shrestha also gave his remarks during the conference while CPN-Maoist Chairman Mohan Baidya ‘Kiran’ sent a congratulatory letter for the conference.

The conference was chaired by Gajendra Manandhar, coordinator of the Joint Struggle Committee that organized the celebrations in coordination with Newa Swayatta Rajya Manka Parishad Kirtipur.

Mass rallies with cultural processions were taken out from Kathmandu went around Kirtipur before the conference.

1st and 2nd Newa Ekta Diwas were organized in Yala (Lalitpur) and Ye’n (Kathmandu) respectively.

Read this news in Nepalbhasa at the link किपूलि नेवाः एकता दिवस तःजिक हन

Newa Swayatta Rajya Manka Sangharsha Samiti is a joint struggle committee of different political and social bodies representing Newar community striving to establish ethnic-identity based Newar autonomous province in historical Nepalmandal territories. It includes ten social and political organizations of Newar community, namely Newa Dey Daboo (Newar National Forum), Newa Lyamha Nhyaluwa, Jyapu Mahaguthi, Baudha Bihar Sangh, Unified Newa Rastriya Mukti Morcha, Newa Jagaran Manch, Newa Dey Guthi Nepalmandal, Loktantrik Newa Sangh and Jyapu Samaj Yala.

News Location:

Related Stories

Newa Ekta Diwas (Newa Unity Day) being marked today

More Stories Like this

Legal prohibition on cow-slaughter in Nepal infringes indigenous peoples’ rights, UN experts told
PPGUK organizes the Guthi Seminar in London
UN rights experts apprised of violation of rights of indigenous Pradhan Newars for construction of a mega business complex
Group Kayeta Puja in Maryland
Newah Convention in USA